Community awards

Learn about our amazing community awards available for individuals and organizations who advocate for food allergy awareness and education.

2023 nominations are now closed and the winners have been selected. Nominations for next year can be submitted in early 2024.

Pryde Family Travel Grant

Graduate student smiling holding a folder

Eligibility: Graduate students, medical students, and health care professionals with an interest in food allergy/anaphylaxis. 
Award: Two grants valued at $500 each for attendance at an academic program or event related to food allergies.
Selection: Recipients are selected by lottery.

This grant was established in honour of the Pryde family and friends, and the friends and family of Sean Delaney, who have hosted The Sean Delaney Golf Memorial Classic since 2007, the year that Sean passed away from a severe allergic reaction.

Meet our 2023 recipients Lauren Wong and Kamila Lizee, who are using their grants to attend and present at two important conferences.

The Robyn Allen Leadership Award

Robyn Allen
Robyn Allen

Eligibility: For a healthcare professional, industry representative, government representative, or an individual who has exemplified extraordinary leadership and dedication in the advancement of food allergy awareness and education. 
Selection: Winner will be selected by the Award Committee, in conjunction with the Allen family.

The award is in memory of Robyn Allen, a beautiful young girl who passed away from an allergic reaction. Although a peanut allergy triggered the response, it was lack of awareness that led to her death. The Robyn Allen Award is given by the Allen family in appreciation to those who champion anaphylaxis-related causes through awareness building and influence change that impacts quality of life through improved policies, research, education, and advocacy.

Meet our 2023 recipient, Allison Kapp, who has made outstanding contributions to improve the knowledge gaps in the treatment of anaphylaxis nationally.

The Sabrina Shannon Memorial Award

Sabrina Shannon, young Ontario girl who passed away in 2003 due to an anaphylactic reaction
Sabrina Shannon

Eligibility: Students entering their first year or continuing their studies at a post-secondary institution.
Award: Two awards of $1,000 each
Selection: A committee of Food Allergy Canada staff and volunteers will review each application and select recipients based on their submission of a short essay.

The Sabrina Shannon Memorial Award is dedicated to the life of Sabrina Shannon, an inspiring teenager who died from anaphylaxis in 2003. In 2005, Sabrina’s Law was passed in Ontario, providing landmark legislation that has influenced policy across Canada and the United States. This award is made possible through an educational grant from TD Securities.

Meet our 2023 winners, Benjamin Cruickshank and Christian Kennedy, who are dedicated students with a strong lifelong commitment to raising allergy awareness and educating others.

We would love to hear how you and/or others are being #FoodAllergyChampions in the community. Share your story and we may send you a special gift in recognition of your efforts!